02 August 2019

Giveaway: Dear Justice League by Michael Northrop

Happy Friday Everyone! I know that it's been a while since I've blogged, but I'm happy to be returning with a giveaway! Here's a chance to get your hands on a copy of Dear Justice League by Michael Northrop!

Publication: August 6th, 2019
Genre: Middle Grade/Graphic Novel
# of Pages: 176

The greatest heroes in the DC Comics universe, the Justice League, answer mail from their biggest fans--kids!--courtesy of Michael Northrop, New York Times bestselling author of TombQuest, and artist Gustavo Duarte. Does Superman ever make mistakes? What was Wonder Woman's eleventh birthday like? Does Aquaman smell like fish? In this new middle-grade graphic novel, iconic heroes are asked questions both big and small, and when they are not busy saving the world, the Justice League even finds time to respond. Their honest and humorous answers will surprise and delight readers of any age, as it turns out that being a superhero is not too different from being a kid. Full of feats, follies, and colorful illustrations, Dear Justice League gives readers the inside scoop into everyday heroics, no matter who wears the cape!




****GIVEAWAY****

The awesome folks at DC Zoom have offered up two (2) copies of Dear Justice League by Michael Northrop to two lucky winners!
This giveaway is US only
Fill out the Rafflecopter below. Full terms located within Rafflecopter. 
Please do not leave sensitive info (addresses, full emails, etc) in the comments section! These comments will be deleted, and their entries invalidated.
Ends August 7th at 11:59pm EST.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

02 July 2019

The Second Summer of the Sisterhood by Ann Brashares

Series: Sisterhood, #2
# of Pages: 373
Publication: April 22nd, 2003
Source: Library Audiobook
Genre: YA Contemporary
Goodreads | Amazon 

Brashares returns to the beloved characters she brought to life in her first novel, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, for a new installment that's equally authentic and engaging. With a bit of last summer's sand in the pockets, the Traveling Pants and the Sisterhood that wears them embark on their 16th summer. Bridget: Impulsively sets off for Alabama, wanting to both confront her demons about her family and avoid them all at once. Lena: Spends a blissful week with Kostos, making the unexplainable silence that follows his visit even more painful. Carmen: Is concerned that her mother is making a fool of herself over a man. When she discovers that her mother borrowed the Pants to wear on a date, she's certain of it. Tibby: Not about to spend another summer working at Wallman's, she takes a film course only to find it's what happens off-camera that teaches her the most.


Please keep in mind that this is a review of a second book in a series. There may be spoilers in this review. 

Diving into the second book of the sisterhood series created a sense of apprehension. I did not dislike the first book; however, I found that the first book was definitely written for individuals of a younger age group. I found a few of the main characters to be frustrating and immature. While I still had problems with this book, I found that a lot of the characters matured in unexpected ways and handled their conflicts in an adult like manner when they were only 16. Instead of doing a review of the book as a whole, this review will be broken into four sections as they align with each character. 

Bridget: Bridget was one of my favorite characters from the first book. During the first book she spent a great deal of time figuring out how to function as a teenage girl without the presence of her mother and with the physical and emotional distance of her father. She was impulsive and too forward and had her heartbroken. In this book, Bridget deals with a lot of demons from her past specifically those related to her maternal grandmother. While she was prevented from having contact with her grandmother by her father, Bridget made the ultimate decision to create a "disguise" and travel to Alabama. While Bridget still came off as impulsive, I really related to her need and desire to connect to her mother through her grandmother. In my personal opinion, Bridget struggled a lot with understanding why her mother committed suicide. By building a relationship with her grandmother, she was better able to get an understanding of why her mother struggled so greatly with mental health. There was also explanation of how her father and mother came to meet and why her father was so determined to protect her mother. I found Bridget's narrative hilarious in some parts because she thought that the "disguise" she created was enough to prevent her grandmother from recognizing her and I respect her grandmother for playing along with the disguise. I don't necessarily believe that Bridget received closure from her visit, but it did allow her to connect with her mom in a way that she wasn't able to after she died. 

Lena: Lena was one of my least favorite characters from the first book. She complained a lot about things that seemed irrelevant and unnecessary especially when her character counterparts went through so much. However, my opinion of her definitely changed in this book. Lena felt a heartbreak unlike any other in this book and it reminded me not only of my first heartbreak that I experienced when I was Lena's age, but also a heartbreak that I'm currently going through. While I expected Lena to fall apart and completely shut down, she handled herself in such a mature and adult like manner which spoke beyond her 16 years. Her character shift gave me a whole new level of respect for her and her experiences. 

Tibby: I strongly connected with Tibby in the first book; however, I didn't really relate to her in this second installment. She remained an interesting character; however, her experiences didn't really resonate with me as an adult. In fact, while reading this book it seemed as though every other character's story line overshadowed anything that was going with Tibby. This stems from the fact that Tibby simply learned the meaning of true friendship instead of trying to fit in and be cool. While it's an important lesson, I think that compared to the other characters it was juvenile. However, I did tear up when she developed her final movie that heavily focused on Bailey. It was definitely a beautifully written scene. 

Carmen: Oh Carmen. We have a true love-hate relationship. Carmen is ultimately my least favorite character out of all the girls. She's selfish, self-indulgent, and immature. I was hoping that the two of us could reconcile from the rocky path that we had in the first book, but it only got worse in this book. Carmen is 16 years old and incapable of allowing her mother to have a relationship which is ridiculous. While I didn't agree with the lack of communication that was exhibited on her mother's side, Carmen did something really grimy things in her narrative to prevent her mother from moving forward in her relationship. She causes her mother to slip into a depression and ultimately shows no remorse until the end of the book. It was almost cruel and it truly prevented me from feeling any form of sympathy for her as a character. Hopefully in the future I'll be better able to relate to Carmen. 

Overall, this was a decent installment in the series. I'm looking forward to seeing how each character develops in the next three books. 

.5

01 July 2019

June Wrap-Up / July TBR

Happy Monday Everyone! Below you'll find some information about the books that I read this past month and what I plan to read in July. I'm participating in the Book Junkie Trials this month which I've already created a TBR for so you'll see that video below.




These two were definitely my favorites for the month and they are polar opposites. Cherishing the Goddess was all about romance; however, Here Comes the Sun focused a lot more on societal and economic issues of Jamaica. Here's a list of everything that I read this month. Books with reviews will be linked: 


Total: 17

Statistics: 

So, in the past few years I've been focusing on statistics related to my reading. While I haven't been super active this year, I'm hoping to continue my understanding of my reading patterns for the rest of the year. I started adding a graph the post that I did for my May wrap-up. 


I'm super surprised by the results of this month's reading. I read more adult titles than another other genre. That usually isn't the case. This actually makes me excited that I'm evening out my reading instead of just reading young adult. 

Pages Read: 2,182
Average Rating: 3.4

Overall, I had a really great reading month. This next month is going to be super intense because I'm planning to participate in the Book Junkie Trials. I have 17 books lined up for that. Watch the video below to check out my TBR. 






30 June 2019

Sunday Post, #25

Happy Sunday Everyone! This is the Sunday Post hosted by the Caffeinated Book ReviewerI hope everyone has had a great week. My week was sort of complicated. I won't go into details, but some things happened that took me on an emotional roller coaster. However, as I always say, my daughter keeps me above water and super positive. Right now, my mind is only focused on her and work and making sure that my life is headed in a positive direction. In other news, I'm participating in the Book Junkie Trials and have ultimately committed to reading 17 books in July. That's a lot, so with that being said I'm really going to be doing some hard core reading during the month of July. I hope that I get a lot of reading done this week especially with the 4th of July coming up.











What Happens in Vegas (2 Stars), The Walking Dead Vol. 2 (4 Stars)





I'm actually reading a lot more than what I'm showing here, but these are probably the books that I plan to focus on this week and hope to finish this week. 


This is going to be the week where I catch on reviews. I've been super behind on doing this and I need to refocus my energy and get them written and posted. 
  • June Wrap Up 
  • The Second Summer of the Sisterhood (Review) 
  • Here Comes the Sun (Review) 
  • The DUFF (Review) 
  • Ice Cream Man Vol. 2 (Review)
  • The Book Boyfriend (Review)
Let me know how your week went and what you plan to do in the upcoming week! 

26 June 2019

All the Wrong Places by Randi Perrin



Happy Wednesday Everyone! I hope everyone is doing well today. I'm a part of a blog tour for Randi Perrin's book All the Wrong Places. Keep reading for my review, information about the author, and a giveaway!


Series: N/A
# of Pages: 270
Publication: June 25th, 2019
Source: Copy from Publisher
Genre: Romance
American-born, Australian-raised Rachel Kennedy was born to be an actress--all the way down to her drama queen ways. But when a bad day leaves her life and her dream in ruins, she's not sure what to do next. Her silver spoon-upbringing never prepared her for that. With a bank account at nothing and an inability to pull off a convincing accent for casting directors, Rachel's about to give up on everything. Not on her best friend's watch. Lily is there to help her every step of the way--if the definition of help involves convincing her to take drastic measures, each one blowing up more than the one that came before. Once Lily shoves Rachel into the let's-get-drunk-and-screw-a-stranger phase, she winds up tangled in the arms of Christian Whitmore, a cop with a sinful smile, sexy stubble, and impeccable timing. He's there to pick her up when she falls and to take her out for fish and chips at her favourite place. But then again, so is his identical twin brother, Kevin. Double. Trouble. Stuck at a major crossroads in her life, can Rachel ever find happiness again, or is she just looking in all the wrong places?




Honestly, I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about All the Wrong Places. Reading about the struggles of the main character Rachel really made me feel for her. Even from the first few pages of the novel, the author easily and skillfully creates a world in which it's impossible for Rachel to succeed. I felt so bad watching her continuously fail at everything. With the encouragement of her closest friend, Rachel falls into a period of no inhibitions and meet this charming Christian. In meeting Christian, Rachel seems to get everything together and begins to enjoy herself, but Perrin provides the twist of a lifetime with the introduction of Christian’s twin brother Kevin. I have never, I repeat never, have read a book where the main character enters a conflict because there’s a romantic interest through the introduction of twins. I won’t say how the ending turned out but I will say that this definitely made for an interesting and new view of romance and I really enjoyed it. Rachel is a mess but she’s so lovable and it’s hard not to feel for her as character. One of the most important things that I enjoyed about this novel was the setting. It’s been a while since I’ve read a story with main characters that live in Australia and I learned so much by throwing myself into the new vocabulary that was provided by the author. Overall, I thought that this was a wonderful romance with interesting twists and turns. While I can see how some people may find Rachel annoying, I really connected with her and spent a great deal of time rooting for her. If you  are interested in checking out a new author and a sexy and engaging romance then definitely check out this book.




English may be Randi’s first language, but she’s the most fluent in sarcasm, and it shows in her writing. She is known for creating snarky, realistic characters—badass heroines who can hold their own and flawed, yet lovable heroes. Like Randi, her characters run on caffeine and swear words. Her characters are often built around dichotomy, much like Randi herself. Although she is the least romantic person in the world, she writes romance. She also refuses to pick a lane on the romance highway, sometimes writing contemporary, other times paranormal, but always smokin’ hot. She is the author of the Earthbound Angels paranormal romance series, several contemporary romance novellas including Anticipating Temptation and Mi Amor, and a gay romance novella entitled Wreck You. She has also had several short stories published in anthologies. Her next full-length novel, a romantic comedy entitled All the Wrong Places, will be out in Summer 2019.



Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

25 June 2019

What's Broken by R.M. Demeester Book Blitz


Happy Tuesday Everyone! Today I'll be helping share some information about new book titled From What's Broken as part of a book blitz being hosted by Expresso Tours. Keep reading to learn more about the book, author, and a way that you can enter to be a part of a giveaway.





Series: N/A
# of Pages: 236
Publication: June 21st, 2019
Source: Publisher
Genre: Romance
Goodreads | Amazon 

Amanda and Matthew are on the cusp of their happily ever after. They have a stable marriage and a lovely daughter, and they are eagerly awaiting the birth of their second. Suddenly tragedy strikes and the couple’s picture-perfect life crumbles. Ivory, their firstborn child, dies in an accident. Not knowing how to deal with their pain, Amanda and Matthew blame each other for their loss and drift apart. They soon realize their relationship might not bear the burden, leaving their surviving daughter to cope with the aftermath of two grief-stricken parents.


“I want a divorce.” The words slipped out in a stream of gloom and ambiguity.
My husband, Matthew, glanced away, his mouth tight and his eyes constricted. He had no words, but I wasn’t surprised. We stared at each other like two strangers, two entirely different people—cold, distant, and doing what we needed to do in order to survive.
The decision hadn’t come easy for me. For weeks, the idea of putting this limbo to rest had been on my mind. I couldn’t live like this. Neither of us was happy. 
“Did you hear me?” I whispered. I knew he had, but I needed confirmation. I needed some kind of response. Sad, happy, or mad, I didn’t really care, but he owed it to me. He owed me a response.
“Yeah.” He hugged his legs and glared past my gaze to the wall behind me. His eyes looked dead, calculating, and cold. Much of how they had been for most of the past year.



Facebook  | Twitter | Instagram | Amazon 


R.M. Demeester lives in Saskatchewan, Canada. She is the mother of three young children, and owner of a rescue dog, a chocolate lab, Gainer. R.M. Demeester has been writing for as long as she could hold a pencil. She writes women's fiction, new adult, and sweet romance primarily. She has two women's fiction novels set to be released in 2019, along with several short stories.



Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

23 June 2019

Sunday Post, #24

Happy Sunday Everyone! This is the Sunday Post hosted by the Caffeinated Book ReviewerThis week has been good! I feel like a lot of thing are working out in my favor and I couldn't be more thankful. I'm moving into week 28 of my pregnancy which means that I am entering my third trimester. It's been okay so far, but I'm starting to feel the aches and pains. It's been harder for me to fall asleep because I have a hard time getting comfortable. Also, I have the worst neighbor in the world who has no sense of respect for anyone or anything but himself (he comes in at 1:30/2 am in the morning and blasts his music with his friends). I already don't sleep a lot, so it really pisses me off when I can get a little bit of sleep and someone ruins that for me. I'm keeping my spirits up those because I'll be leaving in about a month which is great news. I literally feel my baby girl ALL the time now. She's super super active which is great and it's made me even more excited to see her when she's born.







Big Mouth Elizabeth (4 Stars), A Is for Elizabeth (4 Stars), The DUFF (2 Stars)

Book Boyfriend (3 Stars), Ice Cream Man Vol. 2 (3 Stars)





I've started all of these books and I definitely need to focus on spending some time finishing them. 


  • The Second Summer of the Sisterhood (Review) 
  • Top 10 Tuesday 
  • All the Wrong Places Blog Tour & Review 
  • Here Comes the Sun (Review) 
  • Friday, #56 
  • Bitter Root, Vol.1 (Review)